Miller School of Albemarle

MSA Student’s Poem Selected

leave a comment »

Max Johnson and his poem Oxymoronic (published below) were chosen to be read out loud by the author at the 18th Annual Virginia Festival of the Book on March 20th. Scores of entries were reviewed for this event, so the competition was significant. Max’s poem was published in a booklet with about 30 other selected poems from area students. Congratulations Max!

Oxymoronic

I am impossible

Life is impossible.

I am too hot in my attic room

So I have a fan that makes me shiver

So I wear a coat that keeps me warm

So I drink cold tea to cool me down.

I shiver, and wrap my coat tighter.

I am impossible

Comfort is impossible.

****

I am impossible

She is impossible.

I love her and she loves me

But she does not

Love me as I love her.

Sometimes she is with me

But though she is always with me, she is not

With me, and when she is with me

I am most alone.

I am impossible

“We” is impossible.

****

I am impossible

The future’s impossible.

Nothing much can bother me.

I’ve worries on my mind.

My world and my future

And the future of our world

I don’t worry much about it.

That worries me all the time.

I am impossible

Life is impossible.

Written by Miller School of Albemarle

March 30, 2012 at 3:47 PM

Posted in Posts

Leave a Reply

