Miller School of Albemarle

MSA Endurance Team Crowned State Champions by Andy Guptill

leave a comment »

This Saturday, May 19, the Miller School of Albemarle hosted the final round of the Virginia High School Mountain Bike Series, which also served as the State Championship Race. While points were up for grabs toward the overall series, riders had the added motivation of knowing the day’s winners would be crowned 2012 State Champs.

Cyclists from across the state made their way to the scenic Miller School of Albemarle campus for the racing which kicked off at noon with the four-lap Varsity category. Anticipation built as the series’ top riders were recognized and lined up on the front row, and then on the starter’s cue, were off like a shot! Racers sprinted across the field in front of the Lotus Pond and jockeyed for position before dropping into the first section of singletrack. As the front group of racers reemerged into the open, MSA riders Chris Keeling, Jake King, and Taylor Clarke were all battling in the top five, while Rawls Fortenberry, Summer Team rider Parker Brookfield, Sam James, Brian Purdy, Sam Purcell, and Ben Scheiner were close behind.

As the laps progressed, Chris maintained a tremendous pace but wasn’t quite able to catch the leader, Connor Bell of Harrisonburg, and finished a still impressive 2nd. Another Harrisonburg rider finished 3rd, and was closely followed by Jake King and Taylor Clarke, who rounded out the podium for 4th and 5th, respectively. Summer Team rider Parker Brookfield held on for an excellent 6th, Rawls Fortenberry finished a very strong 8th, and Sam James and Sam Purcell crossed in 11th and 12th!

In the two-lap Junior Varsity race, MSA’s Sanders Evans held the Series Leader jersey, but needed a win to guarantee the overall title. A great start by the Endurance Team saw Sanders, Aryeh Enoch, Niall Lovelace, Nate Smith and Andrew Li all enter the singletrack near the front, with Jason Lui just behind. As they neared the end of the first lap, Aryeh and Sanders had opened a sizable gap, but an unfortunate flat tire ended Aryeh’s race prematurely.

Sanders continued to push on to take the win by a good margin, locking up the series win and State Champion title, and was followed by his teammates Niall and Nate for 2nd and 3rd! Andrew Li also had a great day to round out the podium in 5th, and Jason Liu rode a steady race to finish just outside the top ten in 11th!

With every rider finishing inside the top 12, MSA achieved its main goal of winning the day’s Team competition and were crowned 2012 State Champions!

To see more photos of the event go HERE.

Written by Miller School of Albemarle

May 22, 2012 at 11:11 AM

Posted in Posts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: